SUBU is proud to represent a diverse student body and a commitment to providing an inclusive, supportive environment as service provider, representative, campaigning body and as an employer.

 

 

The work done through our Democracy and Equality Department is fundamental to making sure that the students who are part of the Union are given a voice in the University, their local community and nationally.

We as a department oversee and run elections and campaigns across the year ranging from full time officers to student council officers. We also work with the students on important issues through things such as the Big Student Meeting where they are welcome to propose, debate and discuss these issues to bring about change.

Enhancing Equality and Diversity is a priority in SUBU achieving our vision of being a major collective force for all students studying at BU. We strive to make sure every student is represented. Events such as the BME Awards and Student Pride are prime examples of the ways we do this.

SUBU is one of a few Students’ Unions to achieve the Investors in Diversity (IiD) accreditation. We are now working towards achieving stage 2 of the (IiD) process to further embed our strategic focus with the principles of equality and diversity.

 

For more information please contact the Democracy and Equality Department via email or find them in their offices in the SUBU building:

Lead Officers:

Daniel Asaya

SUBU President (1st floor)

supresident@bournemouth.ac.uk

Charlie Souter-Phillips

SUBU Vice President Welfare (1st floor)

suvpwelfare@bournemouth.ac.uk

 

Staff:

Caston Matewu

Democracy and Equality Manager (4th floor)

cmatewu@bournemouth.ac.uk

Matthew Tonge

Equality and Campaigns Co-ordinator (4th floor)

mtonge@bournemouth.ac.uk

Sophie Bradfield

Democracy and Campaigns Co-ordinator (4th floor)

sbradfield@bournemouth.ac.uk

 

Or to contact the communications teams:

Farida Pashi

Communications Assistant

fpashi@bournemouth.ac.uk

Amy Lundberg

Communications Assistant

alundberg@bournemouth.ac.uk

 

  

Powered by

Registered Office

Registered Office: Students' Union at Bournemouth University, Talbot Campus, Fern Barrow, Poole, Dorset, BH12 5BB

Registered in England Charity Number: 1144886